top of page

The Seven Chakras

Below is an overview of each chakra, the nature of its energy, and how that energy governs a certain aspect of our being, as well as insight into how each chakra fits into the Meditation, in terms of raising our consciousness to a higher realm in our quest to discover our true, joyful inner self.

Muladhara root chakra

Also referred to as the “base” chakra, muladhara chakra – located between the origin of the reproductive organ and the anus – is the foundation of our personality. When fully functioning, this chakra gives us a sense of groundedness and deepseated security in life. It is also where kundalini energy resides and is therefore the basis from which the possibility of higher realization arises: the upward journey of kundalini energy to sahasrara chakra, at the crown of the head, starts here, once it has been awakened through Yoga Meditation practices.

Svadhisthanasacral chakra

Next on the journey up toward spiritual awakening is the fluid and adaptive svadhisthana chakra – located in the sacral region of the spine at the level of the coccyx (tailbone) – from where we can start to express ourselves creatively and sensually. When functioning well, this chakra gives us the ability to go with the flow and enjoy all that life has to offer. The Sanskrit word sva means “one’s own” and adhisthana means “dwelling place”, so svadhisthana means “one’s own dwelling place”. It has been suggested by some yogis that this refers to a distant time when the seat of kundalini lay dormant within svadhisthana chakra, but for some reason kundalini has since come to rest in muladhara chakra.

Manipuranavel chakra

Next we come to manipura chakra, which is said to radiate its fiery energy like a

bright sun. It is located at the level of the navel in the astral spine. Manipura is a

very important centre because it is the centre of willpower, energy, vitality and

achievement. It generates and distributes prana throughout the whole body, and

controls our energy, balance and strength. So when it is in balance, we will feel strong, self-confident, empowered and vibrant.

Anahataheart chakra

Next, we ascend to anahata chakra. Also called the heart chakra due to its

location, this functions as a bridge between the three lower chakras – related to the world of body, mind and senses and associated with survival and security (muladhara chakra), sensuality and sex (svadhisthana chakra), and a sense of identity and personal power (manipura chakra) – and the three higher chakras, associated with a higher and more evolved consciousness. The expansiveness of love and compassion in anahata draws us upward into the higher realms of consciousness. When this chakra is functioning well, we will feel great love and compassion in our life.

Vishuddhithroat chakra

Located directly behind the base of the throat is vishuddhi chakra. The term

vishuddhi is derived from the Sanskrit words visha, meaning “impurity”, and

shuddhi, meaning “to purify”. It is our hub of communication, creativity, self-

expression, non-attachment, and learning to accept and receive. When this

chakra is balanced and open, our powers of communication and creativity

become fully awakened. When kundalini energy reaches vishuddhi, we feel

contentment, clarity of mind, a sense of understanding and non-attachment.

Ajnathird eye chakra

The Sanskrit word ajna literally means “to command”, “to obey” or “to know”.

As such, this chakra – which is located on the forehead, between our eyebrows –

is the command centre that guides the other chakras. Forming the boundary

between human and divine consciousness, it represents a higher level of awareness and is considered the centre of extrasensory perception, intuition, clarity and wisdom.

Ajna chakra has two poles: a positive and a negative. The positive pole is the

“spiritual eye”, which is located midway between the eyebrows, while the

negative pole is at the medulla oblongata, which is located in the brain stem atthe base of the skull and is the seat of the ego.Ajna chakra is the meeting point of the three main energetic channels (the ida, pingala and sushumna nadis). When kundalini energy reaches this chakra, our awareness becomes concentrated and our ego-self is transcended. It is here that we experience realization of our true divine self.

Sahasrara crown chakra

Also called niralambapuri, meaning “dwelling place without support”, and Brahmarandhra, “the door of God”, sahasrara chakra is the culmination of our ascent of the astral spine – after achieving self-realization at ajna, we achieve liberation at sahasrara. To reach this point, first we need to open, balance and energize the six chakras below it through deep meditation.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page